top of page

These five Cincinnati friends recorded two albums and a mini album for Brassland before signing to Beggars Banquet. Their last effort, "Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers", was touted as one of the year's best by Rolling Stone and other magazines. 

The National contains two pairs of brothers - Aaron Dessner (guitars, bass) and Bryce Dessner (guitar), Scott Devendorf (guitar, bass), Bryan Devendorf (drums) and singer Matt Berninger. Matt's potent baritone intones about matters fraught and funny and sad; about record collections, missing persons and medium-sized American hearts. The songs are intense, and emotive but generally quite restrained, but on one or two tracks, this intensity spills out into a superbly abrasive blast of emotion, before ebbing back into mellowness. Wonderful!

The National - Alligator

SKU: 607618024116
Out of Stock
  • 1. Secret Meeting
    2. Karen 
    3. Lit Up
    4. Looking For Astronauts
    5. Daughters Of The Soho Riots
    6. Baby, We'll Be Fine
    7. Friend Of Mine
    8. Val Jester 
    9. All The Wine
    10. Abel 
    11. Geese Of Beverly Road
    12. City Middle
    13. Mr. November

You Might Also Like