top of page

Exorcising Ghosts (1984) is a 16-track 2LP set compiled and produced in consultation with lead singer David Sylvian, two years after Japan dissolved.


This career spanning ‘Best of’ features three recordings from the band’s early career on the Hansa Records label (including 1979’s “Quiet Life”) but mainly focuses on material from their two seminal studio albums on Virgin Records; Gentlemen Take Polaroids (1980) and Tin Drum (1981).



Half Speed Mastered by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios, London.


The LPs are housed in a Gatefold Sleeve with Printed Inner bags.


Contains a new Print / Abbey Road Half Speed Master Certificate and Obi strip.

Japan - Exorcising Ghosts

SKU: 0602438621354
Out of Stock
  • Side A

    1. Methods of Dance

    2. Swing

    3. Gentlemen Take Polaroids

    4. Quiet Life


    Side B

    1. A Foreign Place

    2. Nightporter

    3. My New Career

    4. The Other Side of Life


    Side C

    1. Visions of China

    2. Taking Islands in Africa

    3. Ghosts

    4. Songs of Pioneers


    Side D

    1. Voices Raised in Welcome, Hands Held in Prayer

    2. Life Without Buildings

    3. Talking Drum

    4. The Art of Parties

You Might Also Like