top of page

Produced by Sean Ono Lennon, Temples’ fourth full-length album takes place in a mystical setting, an impossibly utopic island dreamed up by singer/guitarist James Bagshaw, bassist Tom Walmsley, keyboardist/guitarist Adam Smith, and drummer Rens Ottink. With its resplendent collage of psychedelia and krautrock and time-bending dream-pop, Exotico brings that world to life in crystalline detail, all while exploring an entire spectrum of existential themes: impermanence, mortality, our connection with nature and the wild immensity of the mind. Equal parts cerebral and celestial, the result is a truly immersive body of work, fully affirming Kettering-bred Temples as one of today’s most forward-thinking and endlessly inventive rock bands.


Mixed by Dave Fridmann (Beach House, Spoon, The Flaming Lips) and mainly recorded at Lennon’s studio in upstate New York, Exotico continues the collaboration begun on Temples’ Lennon-produced 2020 single “Paraphernalia.”


Although Temples created portions of Exotico at their home studio back in England, their 12 days of sessions at Lennon’s studio marked a significant departure from the self-contained approach they’d adhered to since their debut album Sun Structures (a 2014 release The Quietus likened to a series of “woozy daydreams that will embed themselves further in with each listen”).

Temples - Exotico

£24.99 Regular Price
£19.99Sale Price
  • Side A

    1. Liquid Air

    2. Gamma Rays

    3. Exotico

    4. Sultry Air


    Side B

    1. Cicada

    2. Oval Stones

    3. Slow Days

    4. Crystal Hall


    Side C

    1. Head In The Clouds

    2. Giallo

    3. Inner Space

    4. Meet Your Maker


    Side D

    1. Time Is A Light

    2. Fading Actor

    3. Afterlife

    4. Movements Of Time

You Might Also Like