top of page

Hardcore Jollies was Funkadelic’s ninth studio album and their debut on Warner Bros Records. Released in October 1976 and dedicated to “the guitar players of the world”, it showed Funkadelic was the heaviest black rock band since Jimi Hendrix’s Band Of Gypsies (even featuring Buddy Miles on one track). With lead guitarists Michael Hampton and Eddie Hazel dazzling, the personification of funk Bootsy Collins on bass, Bernie Worrell’s keyboard wizardry and many more, the album was helmed by the genius of George Clinton.


Reaching no.12 on the US R&B chart, the album spawned singles ‘Comin’ Round The Mountain’ (US R&B No.54) and ‘Smokey’ (US R&B No.96) and a live remake of 1973’s ‘Cosmic Slop’ from the album of the same name. Recorded during rehearsals for 1976’s P-Funk Earth Tour, this version features a vocal introduction dropped from the 1973 studio cut.


Over 45 years since its original release, Hardcore Jollies is among Funkadelic and George Clinton’s best-ever albums and remains a masterful example of their creative genius. 

Funkadelic - Hardcore Jollies

SKU: 5060767444047
Out of Stock
  • Osmosis Phase One

    1. Comin' Round The Mountain

    2. Smokey

    3. If You Got Funk, You Got Style

    4. Hardcore Jollies


    Terribitus Phase Two

    1. Soul Mate

    2. Slop (Live)

    3. You Scared The Lovin' Outta Me

    4. Adolescent Funk

You Might Also Like