top of page

Death and Vanilla return with ‘Flicker’, presenting their unique pop music that defies categorisation. Housed in a beautifully austere post-ironic de-constructed sleeve; ‘Flicker’ is a modern reflection on these difficult times. World crises notwithstanding, they return reborn, re-arranged and revitalised after assimilating dub reggae, the motorik spirals of Can, the modal meander of Philip Glass and The Cure’s dreamier pop sounds; plus the twice removed symphonic ambience of Spiritualized and Talking Heads under heavy manners from Brian Eno.


By osmosis their period of transition since 2019’s much darker ‘Are You A Dreamer?’ has hatched new eclectic electronica anthems riddled with melody lines, and layered for lush love. Forming in Malmö, Sweden, Death And Vanilla gravitated towards vintage musical equipment; from vibraphone, organ and mellotron, to tremolo guitar and Moog synthesisers. Soaking up soundtracks from the 60s and 70s, listening to library music, kosmiche, French Ye-ye pop and 60s psych, Marleen Nilsson, Anders Hansson and Magnus Bodin were fashioned by the city’s austere industrial past and flat pack present, and all in the shadow of the Orsesund Bridge that links their dreamworld to mainland Europe and a darker reality. Death And Vanilla at once sound like everything is possible; but nothing else at all. There is a flicker of hope for everyone.


LTD Yellow Vinyl is for indie stores only and comes with a DL card.


“Deploying vintage instruments in their quest for melancholic utopia.” - Electronic Sound

“Baroque pop through a dreampop filter.” - The Guardian

Death and Vanilla – Flicker

SKU: 0809236162977
  • Side A

    A1. Out For Magic

    A2. Baby Snakes

    A3. Find Another Illusion

    A4. Perpetuum Mobile.


    Side B

    B1. Looking Glass

    B2. Mercury's Rising

    B3. Fearless

    B4. Transparent Things

    B5. Perpetuum Reprise

You Might Also Like